Faculty of Sociology was established in April 2007 to advance famous traditions of the previous and present generations of sociologists at National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv.

It took decades to lay down the foundations of the present Faculty on the basis of Faculty of Philosophy at University. In 1961 Professor P. Kopnin initiated establishment of the Lab for specific sociological researches which was headed by Associate Professor M. Honcharenko. The Lab’s research fellows and the Faculty’s teachers studied value orientations and orientations to work of different social strata, free and labor time, marriage, family, everyday life and labor relations.

A major milestone in the development of sociological education in Ukraine was establishment of the Chair of Sociology at the Faculty of Philosophy in 1979. Students, who were associated with the Chair, were taught in organization of sociological surveys, public opinion polls, free time analysis, application of mathematical methods in sociology, vocational orientations of youth, planning and predicting of social processes, sociology of labor, and sociology of working collectives.

Chair of Sociology paved the way for the Division of Sociology, which appeared in 1986 at the same Faculty. The Division’s curriculum offered comprehensive instruction in methodology of sociological research, methods of collection, processing, and analysis of sociological data, as well as in sectoral sociologies and informatics.

1991 was the year of the decisive breakthrough – official inauguration of the Faculty of Sociology and Psychology. Professor V. Volovych, Doctor of Philosophy and a well-known expert in research methods, was elected its first dean. Between 2001 and 2007 the Faculty was headed by Dean V. Yevtukh, Doctor of History and Corresponding Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

In April 2007 Faculty of Sociology and Psychology underwent restructuring, after which it emerged as two separate faculties. A. P. Gorbachyk, Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Associate Professor and a distinguished specialist in methodology of sociological research and methods of data analysis was elected dean of Faculty of Sociology.